Confessions of an (Semi-Crunchy) Ex-Vegetarian

This post is kicking off a new series of illustrated journal entries that I’ll (try to) update daily. The musings will be random…but let’s face it…it’s mostly about the illustrations anyway. 🙂 Enjoy the contents of my brain!

 Image

Sadly, I’m no longer saving the world one carrot at a time.

Watercolor and microns

Dear Beans,

It’s not you. It’s me.

Love,

Kelly

I’m not a vegetarian anymore. There. I said it. It’s tough to admit it, to swallow my pride and say that it just wasn’t working out. But I’m out of the closet now, and it’s actually quite liberating.

Becoming a vegetarian was never really as much about the health benefits as it was about the ethics of the whole thing. It wasn’t an exercise in restraint, an attempt to cure a chronic illness, or even a vague resolution to “eat healthier”. I really just didn’t like the idea of giving my money to companies that treated God’s creatures like dirt. Additionally, it seemed like a natural choice for a concerned world citizen. I won’t bore you with statistics. I’m sure you’ve heard them all anyway.

But what’s an earth conscious veggie-lover to do when she discovers that her affection is not reciprocated? Even on a dairy-free diet, I was suffering. I was eating the healthiest diet I could afford, and yet I felt like $#@*.

Stumbling upon some online research about the FODMAP diet (more on that tomorrow, perhaps) was a turning point in my relationship with food. The more I read, the more I realized that the research was describing ME! I won’t get into all the details here, but suffice it to say that it’s ten kinds of difficult to be a vegetarian on the low-FODMAP diet.

I decided to give the diet a go…and my health drastically improved almost overnight. It was just short of miraculous. I felt normal again.

Plants still play a primary role in my diet, but I no longer shy away from animals and my hummus consumption is waaaaaaaaaay down. It’s a little bittersweet.

It takes some humility shed the title of “Vegetarian”. I have to remind myself now and again that my identity is not in the food I eat, and that eating some animals now and again doesn’t make me a second class citizen. I have to take care of the body God’s given me, because until I get my glorified body (can I get an amen?), this is all I’ve got.

To all the vegetarians out there, I salute you. Eat some hummus for me, ok?

Leave a Reply

