How…exciting?

Image

Hippo Meeting

Adobe Illustrator

At the risk of sounding curmudgeonly, I’m going to admit something to you: I don’t really like surprises.

This was a sticking point early on in my relationship with Nathan. He is my total opposite in this respect. He L-O-V-E-S surprises. He’ll throw himself with wild abandon into a new situation and thrive off of the complete novelty of the whole experience. I, conversely, have panic attacks.

It took us a while, but we finally figured out how to get me excited about a new experience: give me information. It seems counterintuitive to Nathan, but it works for me. The more I know about a new place or circumstance, the more I tend to turn the idea of it over in my mind – I play out potential scenarios, plan things I want to do, and foster an appreciation for the beauty of it. (In case you’re wondering, yes I am one of those weird people who looks up menus online before visiting a new restaurant.)

Sometimes I forget to nurture this part of me, to take time out of my day to whet my appetite for things I don’t find myself interested in. Being married to a Wikipedia junkie has certainly drawn out the curious nature in me.

As you may know, my family is traveling to Kenya at the end of this month. None of us have ever been to Africa. So, you know what that means, right? Yep, if you need me anytime between now and then, you can find me at home on the couch, nose buried in at atlas. I’ve got some excitement to uncover!

3 thoughts on “How…exciting?

Leave a Reply

