Fall Throwback + Mama Drama

Image

Fall on Michigan Avenue

Adobe Illustrator

Are these warmer temperatures making anyone else wishing fall would make a reappearance? I miss the cool evening bike rides that my family took almost every day during the summer and fall. I remember fondly the sunshine filtering through sunset-hued leaves and watching my son tromp gleefully through chest-high mounds of fallen foliage. *sigh*

I started this piece in October, I believe, and have just now put the finishing touches on it. It was one of those little side projects that I did for the pure joy of it, working in it in little spurts hither and thither. I hope reminds you also of sweet fall memories.

My son just fell asleep in the middle of the living room floor.

Sorry, I know that was a mental jump. But he did. He really just did that.

He and I have had a rough morning, starting at 5 am, when he woke up and refused to return to sleep…unless I allowed him to lay on my face. Does anyone else have this trouble or is it just a quirk of my own child? He finds strange comfort in using my cheek as a pillow. This, of course, is only comfortable for one of us and inevitably ends very quickly.

As a result of our early waking, we’re both cranky, and one of us has developed a hitting problem. *ahem*. I’ll give you a hint…it’s not me. The hitting is driving me crazy! Anyone have any good advice for heading the problem off? He is 16 months old and it really just started maybe 2 weeks ago. It’s gotten significantly worse in the last 2 or 3 days. My husband and I have tried to teach him to express his anger in different ways – stomping feet, clapping hands, or even hitting a pillow….but I think he’s a little too young to understand. Lectures also go over his head. Any advice would be appreciated!

Ta ta for now friends. I’m off to enjoy some of this surprise naptime!

Leave a Reply

