Watercolor Progress

Image

Bicycler in Cambodian Rice Paddy

Watercolor on Paper

Today I thought I’d share with you a piece that I’m currently working on. It’s coming along fairly nicely, I think. It’s a fun painting with lots of different textures. The photo I’m basing it off of was taken by my talented husband on his last trip to Cambodia. He was showing me some of his b-roll footage for the video he was shooting, and as soon as I saw this frame, I said, “Pause it! I have to paint that!”

The challenge for me in this painting, as in most of my paintings, is balancing areas of great texture and detail with patches of unfocused, suggestive washes. It’s usually a struggle for me to tie it all together without overworking the piece. I’m a detail person. Annoyingly, I’m not one of those hyper-vigilant detail people…the kind you want doing your taxes. No, I’m the kind of detail person that focuses so intently on one particular something, that I lose sight of the whole and forget what I’m aiming for in the first place. It’s a lot closer to obsessive than thorough. A much less desirable trait, I know.

On the plus side, I think that my photography was a bit better here. Maybe I’m improving!  😉

Happy Saturday, friends. Enjoy your weekend!

Leave a Reply

