Safely Home.

Image

Welcome Home.

Watercolors and Microns

Wow, it’s been a while! It’s good to be back. Sorry for my long absence. Sometimes, when my life feels crazy, I have to step back from projects for a while and just breathe…like, for real. I’ve taken up meditation and deep breathing. Sort of. Like, it’s on my to-do list.

That counts…right?

*haaaaaaaaaahhhhhhhhhh……..hooooooooooooooooooooo*

Much better.

Call me a homebody, an introvert, or whatever, but I always find myself retreating to home when life feels overwhelming. I do it to a fault. I mean, drinking gallons of coffee and loafing around in your sweats is only cool for so long. After a few days it borders on pathetic.

Recently though, I’ve been focusing on the positive emotions evoked by the comforts of home. Inspired by a tangentially related project, I painted this cozy little home the other day. I wanted to provoke desire…to cuddle your puppy, curl up by a fire, or to read a book with your baby. I wanted to conjure up smells and sensations of childhood – baked treats, fresh air, bare feet on hard wood floors…

Homesick yet?

Home was on my mind as I was meditating on Isaiah 43 from the Bible. Here is a snippet from that wonderful chapter:

“‘Do not be afraid, for I am with you.
I will gather you and your children from east and west.
6 I will say to the north and south,
‘Bring my sons and daughters back to Israel
from the distant corners of the earth.
7 Bring all who claim me as their God,
for I have made them for my glory.
It was I who created them.’”

Gorgeous, eh? As I read the part about God bringing all his children to him, I pictured a father, scooping up his children in his arms after a long day at work. He is calling his loved ones home – home to comfort, safety, to a place where they can stop all their trying and just…BE. Be loved, be cared for, be helped. Coming home to God is the safest, warmest place you can land.

Leave a Reply

