Abandoned KC.

SONY DSC

Abandoned House 1

Mixed Media

Dear blogging world,

I’m sorry I fell off the proverbial bandwagon. My blogging will be much more infrequent from now on. I should have told you weeks ago.

With that off my chest, here’s a look at a new series I’m developing! I’ve always had a strange fascination with abandoned buildings. I want to know their stories. Why are they no longer wanted? Who owns them? Do they have a future?

My goal is to draw out the inherent mystery and beauty in these old homes. I want them to have new life, even as they stand on shaky limbs. Bones rotting. Hair full of birds nests and filth. Clothing torn and soiled by time and disregard. And I want to remember that life is unstoppable. Tangles of green swallow houses whole, consuming fond memories and eyesores alike. You can’t stop this train.

Don’t look away. They aren’t just blights on the urban landscape. They are part of our history, and perhaps of our future. They speak volumes about us humans. Will we choose to listen to their stories?

Leave a Reply

