What painting is teaching me about LIFE.

10928823_709989544671_5137796595845652432_n

Cabbage (preview)

watercolor on board

I have control issues.

But then, don’t we all.

My work is echoing my life right now. Choosing surfaces that repel and spread force me to relax, let go, and receive what I’m given. At the same time, I’m focusing my energies to manipulate and form life out of otherwise meaningless shapes and colors. It’s a process of doing and not doing at the same time. It’s the push-pull of spirituality there on a piece of board.

Choosing to surrender control has helped me cross a threshold. There is such freedom here.

Leave a Reply

